Housed in a stunning 19th century convent building, the James Cook Museum is one of Queensland’s best museums, showcasing the fascinating history of Cooktown. The museum follows the story of Captain James Cook’s enforced seven week stay at the Endeavour River, during which the first meaningful contact between Europeans and Indigenous Australian took place, to the days of the Palmer River gold rush, as well as personal stories and items from Cooktown’s early residents.
The museum is also where Cookstown’s visitor information centre is housed.
A rare, nineteenth century brick building of substance, constructed during the period of the 1880s boom, James Cook Museum shows the evolution of education in remote regions of Queensland. Five Sisters of Mercy arrived in the goldfield port of Cooktown in 1888. St Mary’s Convent, designed by architect FDG Stanley, opened within a year. As well as regular classes, music, dancing and deportment were taught to boarders and day students until 1941.
Address: Cnr Helen & Furneaux Street, Cooktown, Qld, 4895
Phone: 07 4069 5386